Why not utilize VSO?

Discussion in 'How to Apply Questions' started by busymom, Mar 7, 2017.

1. busymom

busymom Newbie

I've been researching this process for the last 2 months, and I've been so grateful for this forum! I have been working on gathering the necessary documents to help my dad apply for the A&A benefit (he is a veteran from the Vietnam war, and he just moved into assisted living, no assets). I'm just waiting on the physician's form (21-2680) to come back, then I should be ready to send in his application. Last week, I went to the county office VSO here in Southern California just to ask some questions about the forms. The representative was quite helpful, assisting me with actually completing the forms, as well as certifying my dad's discharge papers. He gave everything back to me to have my dad sign and to hold onto while I wait for the doc's report. He offered to have me come back to have him actually file for me, and to allow him to be the rep for his claim. I know people on this forum have had bad experiences with their VSOs, but most often it seems to be complaints of VSOs not really knowing their stuff and discouraging people from applying. My experience so far has been different, leaving me to wonder if it is better to take these forms back to him, or to carry on with filing myself? What exactly is the advantage to doing it myself rather than allowing him to represent his claim? Thanks!

Bevy likes this.
  2. Jandy

Jandy Jr. Member

Hi busymom,
    My experience was like others (as you mentioned): the local VA reps I spoke to were not knowledgeable about A&A. As a result, I completed and filed my father's application myself.