Paying taxes

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by vonbrown, Feb 20, 2017.

1. vonbrown

vonbrown Newbie

Hello, I'm am at my wits end finding a answer. I receive Aid and Attendance Benefits and pay a family member monthly for care. Does my care provider (the family member) need to file a tax return for the money I pay her? I also want to mention it is her only income beside the SSI she receives for her daughter. If so, how do you report it? She has received no paperwork from Social Security, IRS or the VA? I understand my benefit is tax free, but what about the person (my family member) I'm paying to cook, clean, ect, ect.

2. deanyj

deanyj Newbie

Hi, Disclaimer: I am not a professional tax person. I am familiar with this scenario though. You can get a 1099 form from the IRS web site to report to the IRS that you have paid a certain amount of money to a person for services. This is submitted once a year for the previous year's taxes. The IRS also has a form to make Federal tax deposits for estimated taxes that may be due on the money that has been paid. These estimated taxes will prevent any penalities that can be incurred if money is owed to the government. I am not sure about the State taxes but you can look at the state government web site. If you call the IRS, they can guide you to the information that you need. The State may also do this. Hope all works out well for you.

Lisa and Kaylin like this.
  3. lilybet66

lilybet66 Newbie

Pretty much in same scenario as yourself. I care for my mom. I claimed all VA income to myself as a small business. I think it's form Schedule C. It was easy to do on Turbo tax. I was able to print off estimated taxes due on a quarterly basis to avoid the big lump some of taxes at one time.

Kaylin likes this.
  4. Kaylin

Kaylin Hero Member Staff Member

Thank you, deanyj and lilybet66 for giving your opinion!

5. DebbieTownley

DebbieTownley Newbie